À propos du HCR en Grèce

Le HCR, l’Agence des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés, a été créé en 1950 par l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies. Le HCR dirige et coordonne les activités visant à protéger et à soutenir les réfugiés dans le monde entier. Néanmoins, la responsabilité première de protéger les réfugiés incombe toujours au gouvernement du pays dans lequel le réfugié réside.


Quel est le rôle du HCR en Grèce ?

La Grèce fait partie des États signataires de la Convention de 1951 des Nations Unies relative au statut des réfugiés. Le gouvernement grec a la responsabilité de traiter les demandes d'asile et de décider si une personne peut se voir accorder le statut de réfugié en Grèce.

Par conséquent, en Grèce, le HCR ne procède pas à l'inscription des réfugiés, n'examine pas les demandes d'asile et ne délivre pas de documents établissant le statut de réfugié. Le gouvernement grec se charge de telles tâches.

Le rôle du HCR en Grèce se concentre sur la coopération avec le gouvernement grec, les organisations non gouvernementales et d'autres organisations, les réseaux de bénévoles et les communautés, afin d'assurer la protection des réfugiés et des demandeurs d'asile qui arrivent en Grèce.

  • Le HCR plaide pour l'amélioration des politiques et des services qui affectent la vie des réfugiés.
  • Le HCR apporte son soutien au gouvernement grec, en vue de l'amélioration des procédures de demande d'asile et d'accès à des droits.
  • Lorsque cela s'avère nécessaire, le HCR aide le gouvernement à répondre aux besoins de base des demandeurs d'asile et des réfugiés. Dans certains cas, le HCR apporte son soutien lorsqu'il existe des lacunes en matière d'hébergement, d'eau, d'assainissement, de nourriture, d'équipements ménagers de base, de santé, de fourniture d'informations, de coordination et de gestion de sites. Le HCR fait ceci soit directement soit en coopérant avec des partenaires. Le rôle du HCR varie en fonction des lieux, des besoins identifiés et des partenariats.
  • Le HCR assiste aux demandeurs d'asile en les mettant en rapport avec des partenaires susceptibles de leur fournir des conseils sociaux et juridiques et aussi susceptible de pouvoir les représenter.
  • Le HCR des Nations Unies apporte aussi son soutien aux fonctionnaires gouvernementaux, au personnel des organisations non gouvernementales (ONG) et à d'autres, afin de renforcer leurs capacités de compréhension et de satisfaction des besoins des réfugiés.

Qu'est-ce que le HCR peut faire pour vous ?

Le personnel du HCR vous écoutera et vous informera des options qui s'offrent à vous et des procédures disponibles, afin de vous permettre de prendre des décisions informées par vous-même. Tout ce que vous direz demeurera confidentiel. Le HCR vous orientera également vers les ONG pertinentes ou les autorités susceptibles de vous fournir les services ou l'assistance dont vous avez besoin. Le HCR ne partagera vos informations que si vous y avez consenti.

  • Le personnel du HCR peut vous fournir des informations juridiques claires et pratiques. Nous pouvons vous informer des procédures à suivre lors de votre arrivée en Grèce. Nous pouvons vous fournir des informations concernant la marche à suivre pour demander l'asile, le regroupement familial dans un autre pays européen, la réinstallation dans un autre pays européen ou le retour volontaire assisté dans votre pays d'origine. De même, nous pouvons vous renseigner sur vos droits et obligations en tant que demandeur d'asile ou bénéficiaire d'une protection internationale en Grèce.
  • Le personnel du HCR peut vous expliquer les procédures particulières susceptibles de s'appliquer aux groupes suivants : a) mineurs non accompagnés, b) personnes handicapées ou atteintes d'une maladie incurable ou grave, c) personnes âgées, d) femmes enceintes ou ayant accouché récemment, e) parents isolés avec des enfants mineurs, f) survivants d'actes de torture, de viol ou d'autres formes graves de violence ou d'exploitation psychologique, physique ou sexuelle, ou encore les personnes atteintes d'un trouble post-traumatique, notamment les survivants et les membres de la famille de victimes d'un naufrage, g) les victimes de la traite des êtres humains.

Ce n'est qu'avec votre consentement que le personnel du HCR des Nations Unies partagera ces informations avec les autorités ou avec d'autres organisations.

  • Si vous êtes en danger en raison de votre sexe, votre âge ou votre orientation sexuelle, le HCR peut vous conseiller quant aux lieux où vous pourrez demander de l'aide. Nous pouvons vous tourner vers les organisations ou les autorités pertinentes, qui pourrons vous fournir davantage d'assistance et de protection, mais nous ne le ferons qu'avec votre consentement.

Les responsabilités du HCR se limitent aux tâches suivantes :

  • La protection et l'assistance aux réfugiés en Grèce est la responsabilité du gouvernement grec. Le HCR s'efforce d'aider les autorités grecques à atteindre cet objectif.
  • Le rôle du HCR en Grèce n'inclut pas la réception et/ou le traitement des demandes d'asile ou de réinstallation. Le personnel du HCR peut seulement vous informer de la procédure à suivre pour demander l'asile auprès des autorités grecques.
  • Le HCR en Grèce ne peut pas vous renvoyer dans votre pays d'origine, ou dans un autre pays. Néanmoins, nous vous informerons des options qui s'offrent à vous et des modalités de demande d'un retour volontaire assisté.
  • Le HCR ne peut fournir un hébergement et de l'assistance qu'aux personnes et aux familles les plus vulnérables, dans le cadre du système général mis à disposition par les autorités grecques et d'autres organisations.

Où trouver le HCR ?

  • Les équipes de terrain du HCR sont basées à Athènes, Lesbos, Chios, Samos, Kos, Leros, Rhodes, Thessalonique, Ioannina, et Larissa et couvrent, avec des missions et des visites ad hoc, tous les sites relevant de leur domaine de compétence.
  • Le Bureau de représentation du HCR se trouve à Athènes. Ce bureau ne reçoit pas les demandes d'information ou d'assistance. Toute question urgente peut être adressée au HCR Grèce, par courriel.

Comment le HCR met ses activités en place ?

Nous travaillons avec notre propre personnel, avec des ONG internationales et nationales et avec les autorités locales. Celles-ci incluent notamment :

  • Agence adventiste du développement et de l'aide humanitaire (ADRA Allemagne)
  • Association for the Social Support of Youth (ARSIS)
  • Action Aid
  • Caritas
  • Catholic Relief Service (CRS)
  • Conseil danois pour les réfugiés (DRC)
  • Conseil grec pour les réfugiés (GCR)
  • ELIX
  • Programme œcuménique pour les réfugiés (ERP)
  • Finn Church Aid (FCA)
  • Humanitarian Support Agency (HSA)
  • Fédération internationale des sociétés de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge (FICR)
  • International Rescue Committee (IRC)
  • International Medical Corps (IMC)
  • IOCC- Apostoli
  • Light the House Relief
  • Médecins du Monde (MDM)
  • Mercy Corps
  • METAdrasi
  • Network for Children’s’ Right (NCR)
  • Ministère des affaires étrangères norvégien
  • Conseil norvégien pour les réfugiés (NRC)
  • Probitas
  • RESCUE
  • SAMARITAN’S PURSE
  • Save the Children (SCI)
  • Secours Islamique France (SIF)
  • SOLIDARITY INTERNATIONAL
  • Solidarity Now
  • SOS Villages d'enfants
  • SOS Villages d'enfants international
  • Chaîne du bonheur - La Suisse solidaire
  • Syn-eirmos
  • Traducteurs sans frontières
  • UNFPA
  • HCR des Nations Unies
  • UNICEF
  • Women and Health Alliance International (WAHA)

Feedback

How can we improve this website? Please feel free to give us feedback if there is any information you believe is missing or could be wise to have on this website.

(Your privacy will be respected and the confidentiality of your answers will be maintained)

About UNHCR in Greece

UNHCR, the UN Refugee Agency was established in 1950 by the United Nations General Assembly . UNHCR leads and coordinates activities to protect and support refugees worldwide. However, the primary responsibility to protect refugees is always with the Government of the country where the refugees live.


What is the role of UNHCR in Greece?

Greece is a party to the 1951 UN Convention relating to the Status of Refugees and the Government has the responsibility to process asylum claims and to decide whether somebody can be granted refugee status in Greece.

In Greece, therefore, UNHCR does not register refugees, UNHCR does not examine asylum applications and UNHCR does not issue refugee documents. The government is responsible for that.

UNHCR’s role in Greece focuses on working with the Government, non-governmental and other organizations, volunteer networks and communities to ensure the protection of refugees and asylum seekers arriving in Greece.

UNHCR advocates for the improvement of policies and services that affect the lives of refugees.
UNHCR supports the Government to improve the process through which people can apply for asylum and access rights.
Where necessary UNHCR helps the Government to fulfill the basic needs of asylum-seekers and refugees. In some cases, UNHCR provides support when there are gaps related to shelter, water, sanitation, food, basic household items, health, education, information provision, coordination and site management. UNHCR does this either directly or by working with partners. UNHCR’s role varies from location to location, depending on the identified needs and partnerships.
UNHCR assists asylum-seekers by connecting them with partners who can provide social and legal advice and representation.
UNHCR also provides support to government officials, the staff of non-governmental organizations (NGOs) and others to enhance their capacity to understand and respond to the needs of refugees.


What can UNHCR do for you?

UNHCR staff will listen to you and inform you of the options and procedures that are available to you to allow you to make informed decisions for yourself. Everything you say will be confidential. UNHCR will also refer you to relevant NGOs or an authority that might be able to provide you with the services or support necessary. UNHCR will only share your information if you agree.

  • UNHCR staff can give you clear and practical legal information. We can inform you about the procedures that you must complete when you arrive in Greece. We can provide you with information on how to apply for asylum, family reunification in another European country, relocation to another European country, or assisted voluntary to return to your home country. We can also inform you of your rights and obligations as an asylum seeker or beneficiary of international protection in Greece.
  • UNHCR staff will explain to you specific procedures that may apply to the following groups: a) unaccompanied children b) persons with a disability or persons suffering from an incurable or serious illness, c) elderly, d) pregnant women or women having recently given birth, e) single parents with minor children, f) survivors of torture, rape or other serious forms of psychological, physical or sexual violence or exploitation, or persons with a post-traumatic disorder, in particularly survivors and relatives of victims of ship-wrecks, g) victims of trafficking. Only if you agree, will UNHCR staff share this information with the authorities or other organizations.
  • If you are at risk because of your gender, age or sexual orientation, UNHCR can advise you on where to seek help. We can refer you to the relevant organization or authority for further support and protection, but will only do so if you agree.

UNHCR’s responsibilities are limited to the following:

  • The primary responsibility to protect and assist refugees in Greece is with the Greek Government. UNHCR works to support the Greek authorities in achieving that objective.
    The role of UNHCR in Greece does not include receiving and/or processing of asylum or resettlement applications. UNHCR staff will inform you of how you can apply for asylum with the Greek authorities.
  • UNHCR in Greece cannot return you to your country of origin or another country. But we will inform you of the options available and how you can ask for assisted voluntary return.
  • UNHCR can only facilitate shelter and assistance to vulnerable individuals and families within the overall system provided by the Greek authorities and other organizations.

Where can you find UNHCR?

  • UNHCR teams are based in Athens, Lesvos, Chios, Samos, Kos, Leros, Kalymnos, Rhodes, Thessaloniki, Ioannina, Larissa and Kavala, covering through physical presence, field missions and ad hoc visits all sites in their area of responsibility.
  • UNHCR’s Representation office is located in Athens. This office does not receive persons seeking information or assistance. Any urgent question can be addressed to UNHCR Greece via email.

How does UNHCR put its activities into place?

We work through our own staff and by working with international and national NGOs and local authorities. These include:

  • Adventist Development and Relief Agency (ADRA Germany)
  • Association for the Social Support of Youth (ARSIS)
  • Action Aid
  • Caritas
  • Catholic Relief Service (CRS)
  • Danish Refugee Council (DRC)
  • Greek Council for Refugees (GCR)
  • ELIX
  • Ecumenical Refugee Programme (ERP)
  • Finn Church Aid (FCA)
  • Humanitarian Support Agency (HSA)
  • International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent (IFRC)
  • International Rescue Committee (IRC)
  • International Medical Corps (IMC)
  • IOCC- Apostoli
  • Light the House Relief
  • Médecins du Monde (MDM)
  • Mercy Corps
  • METAdrasi
  • Network for Children’s’ Right (NCR)
  • Norwegian MFA
  • Norwegian Refugee Council (NRC)
  • Probitas
  • RESCUE
  • SAMARITAN'S PURSE
  • Save the Children (SCI)
  • Secours Islamique France (SIF)
  • SOLIDARITY INTERNATIONAL
  • Solidarity Now
  • SOS Children's Villages
  • SOS Children's Villages International
  • Swiss Solidarity
  • Syn-eirmos
  • Translators Without Borders
  • UNFPA
  • UNICEF
  • Women and Health Alliance International (WAHA)

UNHCR Greece Web Platforms

For more information about UNHCR Greece information products and webpages, kindly refer to the UNHCR Greece information portal here, UNHCR Greece webpage here or access UNHCR Greece’s Facebook link here.

You can find information about the ESTIA accommodation scheme here.

Feedback

How can we improve this website? Please feel free to give us feedback if there is any information you believe is missing or could be wise to have on this website.

(Your privacy will be respected and the confidentiality of your answers will be maintained)