Apply for asylum with the government

The government of each country is responsible for receiving and processing asylum requests in:

Bahamas 🇧🇸 | Cayman Islands 🇰🇾 | Dominican Republic 🇩🇴 | Jamaica 🇯🇲 | Montserrat 🇲🇸 | Turks and Caicos Islands 🇹🇨

UNHCR is not involved in the decision-making process, but we may be able to assist you in understanding the procedures. 

➡️ To seek asylum in the Bahamas 🇧🇸, please approach the government immigration authorities or the relevant asylum authority to register your claim. The government will communicate directly with you on the procedures and will make the determination on whether or not you are a refugee.  

  • If you need more information or assistance in the process, you can email UNHCR at [email protected] with your name, your phone number and the country you are currently in. 

➡️ If you wish to seek asylum in the Cayman Islands 🇰🇾, Jamaica 🇯🇲, Montserrat 🇲🇸, or Turks and Caicos Islands 🇹🇨, please email [email protected] with your name, your phone number and the country you are currently in.  

  • A UNHCR officer will provide you with basic information on how to request asylum through the government’s procedure. We may also be able to provide information on local organizations that could assist you in your country of asylum. 

➡️ To see seek asylum in the Dominican Republic 🇩🇴, please visit Help Dominican Republic for information. 

➡️ If you are in another Caribbean country, visit the Help homepage and select the country you are in to find more information on seeking asylum there.  

⬅️Select another country in the Caribbean

Related information