Family reunification

Only the French consular authorities in the country in which the family submitted their visa application can give a positive or negative response to the request.

If you have obtained international protection in France, you can ask to bring to France:

  • Your spouse/partner/partner. He/she must be at least 18 years old, and the union or cohabitation must be prior to the date of submission of your application for protection;
  • your children aged under 19 at the time of submitting the visa application;
  • your children under the age of 18, and those of your spouse, from previous unions, whose filiation is only established with regard to you or that of your spouse, or whose other parent is deceased or deposed his parental rights;
  • your minor children aged under 18, and those of your spouse, who are entrusted, as the case may be, to you or your spouse, under the exercise of parental authority, by virtue of a decision of a foreign court.
  • If you are a minor and unmarried, your first-degree ascendants accompanied by your unmarried collaterals for whom they are effectively responsible.

Your family members concerned must apply directly for a visa to the French consular authorities in the country in which they reside. The procedures for obtaining an appointment for the visa application by country can be consulted on this page. For more information, you can consult the leaflets available in several languages.

La réunification familiale

Seules les autorités consulaires françaises dans le pays dans lequel la famille a déposé sa demande de visa peuvent donner une réponse positive ou négative à la demande. 

Si vous avez obtenu une protection internationale en France, vous pouvez demander à faire venir en France :

  • Votre conjoint/concubin/partenaire. Il doit être âgé d’au moins 18 ans, et l’union ou le concubinage doit être antérieur à la date d’introduction de votre demande de protection ;
  • vos enfants âgés de moins de 19 ans au moment du dépôt de la demande de visa ;
  • vos enfants de moins de 18 ans, et ceux de votre conjoint, issus d’unions antérieurs, dont la filiation n’est établie qu’à votre égard ou à celui de votre conjoint, ou dont l’autre parent est décédé ou déchu de ses droits parentaux ;
  • vos enfants mineurs de 18 ans, et ceux de votre conjoint, qui sont confiés, selon le cas, à vous ou votre conjoint, au titre de l’exercice de l’autorité parentale, en vertu d’une décision d’une juridiction étrangère.
  • Si vous êtes mineur et non marié, vos ascendants au premier degré accompagnés par vos collatéraux non mariés dont ils ont la charge effective.

Vos membres de famille concernés devront fairedirectement leur demande de visa auprès des autorités consulaires françaises dans le pays dans lequel ils résident. Les modalités d’obtention de rendez-vous pour le dépôt de visa par pays peuvent être consultées sur cette page. Pour plus d’information, vous pouvez consulter les dépliants disponibles en plusieurs langues.